"Sleep when you're dead. "
But right now, I think it's a pretty good idea, just curiously unattainable.
It's midnight. And I'm restless and I feel like I'm not getting anywhere with anything.
And being awake obviously is only going to contribute to the problem....
Yet here I sit. Or flop, really. Because flopping is what I'm doing.
I tried going in the shower to see if it would help, but it didn't. Our tub is fucked now, so every time you go in there, the water just collects in the tub until it reaches over your ankles. And then you have to take the grey water out of the tub with a bucket when you're done.
It's really not a relaxing experience. It's more like seeing how long you can stand in there, while contemplating how long it'll take to get all the water out afterwards, and determining exactly how long you want the frigging charade to go on....
Then you get to dump all the water out. It makes me think of peasants, naked in the kitchen in a washtub for their monthly bath, or something. It's good sometimes to feel like a peasant. It keeps you humble. At least, it keeps me humble.... And I can't complain too much, seeing as I don't have to boil the water on a fire or stove before even putting it in the tub.
Oh, modern conventions. You both aggravate and enthrall me. I have to say, if I had to boil my own bath water on our stove, it would take all day.... I'd probably go outside and roll in some dust instead. In the style of a peccary.
Hm.
I wish I was as pleasantly surprised by myself, as I often find I am with others. And I wish I could forcibly learn the method of expressing to others how that makes me feel, exactly. How come other people seem to know how to do this? I am hesitant to put myself out there, because I never really have, and since I never have, I'm not very good at it. And tend to say things that get misconstrued. And I always tend to let people draw their own conclusions, which are usually false, and everything ends up fucked -- and I just live with it. I think I've been so wrapped up in the "Wait and see what happens!" mentality, that I often wait too much and forget to participate.
Why am I so weird? Is the first step to dealing with this issue, identifying it? Is this Socially Inept Idiots Anonymous? Should we meet here every week?
I feel like over the winter months, I was a bit more stable. I wasn't as cheerful, but I think I was generally doing okay, more so than now. It's hard for me to say whether it has to do with goings-on in my personal life, whether I'm just like this always (it doesn't ever seem that way, but maybe I just don't know myself well enough?) or the weather, drinking, or hormones, my diet, or the recurring devil Depression....
I had to stop smoking weed. It was starting to freak me out. Where it used to be something that usually made me feel better, now it just makes me anxious and paranoid. Makes me feel like I'm wasting my life away. Maybe the cessation of sedating myself constantly is adding to the mental stress load? Now that I'm thinking more clearly, perhaps I'm spending too much time thinking about things -- exacerbating the problems, which aren't even really that problematic?
I'm going to label this post "scooters, vacation, fall" and nobody can stop me.
I'm done with the internet. At least for now.